Photo: Raph_PH

The Pretenders Release ‘Let The Sun Come In’: Look + Listen

From their upcoming studio album ‘Relentless,’ The Pretenders return to the fore with their brand single ‘Let The Sun Come In.’

Scheduled for a September 1 release, the forthcoming album marks Chrissie Hynde and company’s follow-up to 2020’s ‘Hate for Sale.’

Speaking about the LP title, Hynde said: “I enjoy seeing the various meanings and origins of a word. And I liked the definition: “showing no abatement of intensity”. It’s the life of the artist. You never retire. You become relentless.”

Now 71, Chrissie co-wrote all of the tracks with guitarist James Walbourne, 43, for the second consecutive time, and commenting on their creative process, she added: “We had developed this method of working remotely and it seemed like we just kept on doing it for this album. This is something that we’ve honed down to an art in the last few years. He always comes up with something I wouldn’t have thought of myself and I love surprises.”

The full length features “The Pretenders Collective”, with Kris Sonne (on drums), Chris Hill (on double bass), Dave Page (on bass) and Carwyn Ellis (on keyboards and guitars). Radiohead’s Jonny Greenwood composed a string arrangement and conducted the 12 Ensemble on the hair-raising closing track, ‘I Think About You Daily’.

Prior to signing a new record deal with Parlophone, in 2022 Chrissie teased the LP, but admitted it was taking a while to get released. Taking to her Instagram account the legendary rocker wrote:

“We have a new album coming out, ‘Relentless’. “For some reason, which I don’t quite understand, it takes ages to get an album out these days—i.e. waiting for vinyl factories. I’m not even sure if we have a record deal. I’ll have to ask my management if I remember.”

In the interim the band have scheduled a series of headline concerts in addition to supporting Guns N’ Roses in the UK and Europe, and an American Express presents BST Hyde Park show on June 30.

To pre-order their new album and see the band’s full tour schedule visit

‘Relentless’ track-listing:

1. ‘Losing My Sense Of Taste’

2. ‘A Love’

3. ‘Domestic Silence’

4. ‘The Copa’

5. ‘Promise Of Love’

6. ‘Merry Widow’

7. ‘Let The Sun Come In’

8. ‘Look Away’

9. ‘Your House Is On Fire’

10. ‘Just Let It Go’

11. ‘Vainglorious’

12. ‘I Think About You Daily’

Keep up with the latest trending music news by following us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

Author: Saul Goode

Photo: Raph_PH