Photo: Pedro J. Pacheco

Switzerland Wins Eurovision Song Contest

At the 68th Eurovision Song Contest, Switzerland was crowned the winner!

The first-ever openly non-binary Eurovision winner, Nemo took home the coveted trophy with ‘The Code,’ followed by Croatia who came in second place, and Ukraine that placed third. 

In their acceptance speech they said, “I hope this contest can continue to live up to its promise to stand for dignity and peace everywhere.”

Switzerland have won the competition twice before. The last time was in 1988, when Celine Dion won with her song, Ne Partez Pas Sans Moi.

Not the first time the Swiss have won the competition, in 1988 Celine Dion won with her song, ‘Ne Partez Pas Sans Moi.’

The evening took an interesting turn when the Netherlands’ entry, Joost Klein, was kicked out of the competition after he used threatening language during a disagreement with a female crew member backstage. He was subsequently disqualified by Eurovision organizers, the EBU (Eurovision Broadcasting Union). And before the Grand Final started, the Netherlands announced they wouldn’t give points to any other contestants saying “We do not feel the need to hand out the points of the Dutch jury.” “We imagined this evening very differently.”

It was also revealed that entrants from Ireland, Portugal, Switzerland and the England had been in “crisis talks” with the EBU and were considering withdrawing from the competition after demanding Israel be disqualified from the competition. And when Israel’s entry Eden Golan performed, loud boos could be heard from the audience. Many of the audience turned their backs when Israel’s delegate delivered her country’s vote.

Keep up with the latest trending music news by following us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram

Author: Saul Goode

Photo: Pedro J. Pacheco