Photo: Alfred Marroquin

Megan Thee Stallion Stars In Reneé Rapp Video: Look + Listen

The first official soundtrack single from Paramount’s upcoming movie Mean Girls, Reneé Rapp releases “Not My Fault,” featuring Megan Thee Stallion.

Mean Girls is based on the 2018 Broadway musical adaptation of Tina Fey‘s 2004 film, the first teaser for which was shown during the Taylor Swift concert film earlier this year, followed by the official trailer release. 

The formal synopsis for the film notes, “New student Cady Heron (Angourie Rice) is welcomed into the top of the social food chain by the elite group of popular girls called The Plastics, ruled by the conniving queen bee Regina George (Reneé Rapp) and her minions Gretchen (Bebe Wood) and Karen (Avantika). However, when Cady makes the major misstep of falling for Regina’s ex-boyfriend Aaron Samuels (Christopher Briney), she finds herself prey in Regina’s crosshairs. As Cady sets to take down the group’s apex predator with the help of her outcast friends Janis (Auli’i Cravalho) and Damian (Jaquel Spivey), she must learn how to stay true to herself while navigating the most cutthroat jungle of all: high school.”

Earlier this year, Rapp sat down with Rolling Stone to discuss her music career, and the challenges of being on Broadway. Addressing the relief she felt once the musical closed, she said “There’s a picture of me on FaceTime with my ex, sobbing and being like, ‘Oh, my God, I’m going to eat in the middle of the day.’ I was scared shitless, and I was also happier than I had been in a very long time.”

Concurrent with the film, the Mean Girls soundtrack is schedule for a January 12 release courtesy of Interscope Records. With Reneé reprising her Broadway role of Regina George, the Mean Girls full length features songs from several of the film’s stars, including Rapp, Angourie Rice as Cady Heron, Auli’i Cravalho as Janis ‘Imi’ike, and Avantika as Karen Shetty.

Keep up with the latest trending music news by following us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram

Author: Al Denté

Photo: Alfred Marroquin