Photo: Anna Hanks

Future, Burna Boy, Stormzy Join Rihanna On Black Panther Sequel Soundtrack

Following the release of ‘Lift Me Up’ by Rihanna, the full track-listing for ‘Black Panther: Wakanda Forever – Music From And Inspired By’ has been released.

British-born rapper Stormzy appears on ‘Interlude’, while Burna Boy is featured on ‘Alone’ along with hip-hop legend Future on ‘Limoncello’ by OG Dayv, as Nigerian rapper and musician Rema make two appearances on Bloody Civilian’s ‘Wake Up’ and Alemán’s ‘Pantera.’

In a statement about the music, composer Ludwig Göransson (who worked with the Marvel movie’s director Ryan Coogler on the soundtrack) told Pitchfork: “Ryan and I talked about the importance of creating an immersive journey of sound and voice. If we used a song in the film, we wanted it to be the entire song, and to be connected to the story.” “Thematically, we wanted to move the audience from grief to celebration. When you listen to the soundtrack, you can close your eyes and relive the experience of the movie. That was the intention.”

Rihanna’s emotional ‘Lift Me Up’ ballad is a tribute to the late Chadwick Boseman, who played the lead character in the first film.

Confirming that Rihanna was the director’s first choice for the soundtrack, Ryan explained that the new mother was the perfect fit given the sequel’s motherhood theme, stating:

“Rihanna, man, we knew she was at a point in her life as well where she was focusing on different things — focused on business, motherhood, which is a big theme in our film. We were holding out hope that maybe it could work out and boy did it for this song.”

The film is slated to hit theaters on November 11, 202 and the ‘Black Panther: Wakanda Forever – Music From And Inspired By’ track-listing includes:

01. Rihanna – ‘Lift Me Up’

02. DBN Gogo / Sino Msolo / Kamo Mphela / Young Stunna / Busiswa – ‘Love Loyalty (Believe)’

03. Burna Boy – ‘Alone’

04. Tems – ‘No Woman No Cry’ (Bob Marley The Wailers cover)

05. Vivir Quintana / Mare Advertencia – ‘Árboles Bajo El Mar’

06. Foudeqush / Ludwig Göransson – ‘Con La Brisa’

07. Snow Tha Product – ‘La Vida’ (feat. E-40)

08. Stormzy – ‘Interlude’

09. Fireboy DML – ‘Coming Back Fro You’

10. Tobe Nwigwe / Fat Nwigwe – ‘They Want It, But No Performed’

11. ADN Maya Colectivo: Pat Boy, Yaalen K’uj, All Mayan Winik – ‘Laayli’ kuxa’ano’one’

12. OG Dayv – ‘Limoncello’ (feat. Future)

13. Ckay – ‘Anya Mmiri’ (feat. PinkPantheress)

14. Bloody Civilian – ‘Wake Up’ (feat. Rema)

15. Alemán – ‘Pantera’ (feat. Rema)

16. DBN Gogo / Sino Msolo / Kamo Mphela / Young Stunna / Busiswa – ‘Jele’

17. Blue Rojo – ‘Inframundo’

18. Calle x Vida / Foudeqush – ‘No Digas Mi Nombre’

19. Guadalupe De Jesús Chan Poot – ‘Mi Pueblo’

Keep up with the latest trending music news by following us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram

Author: Al Denté

Photo: Anna Hanks