Photo: edwardfilms

Everything But The Girl Returns With ‘Nothing Left To Lose’: Look + Listen

2f years since their last release, Everything But The Girl is back with a new single from their forthcoming full length.

Made up of singer Tracey Thorn and multi-instrumentalist Ben Watt, the 1990s’ electronica duo – have unveiled, ‘Fuse’ their comeback album pre-empted by the hypnotic lead single, ‘Nothing Left To Lose’.

In a statement about their iconic return, Thorn (now 60) said: “Ironically the finished sound of the new album was the last thing on our mind when we started in March 2021. Of course, we were aware of the pressures of such a long-awaited comeback, so we tried to begin instead in a spirit of open-minded playfulness, uncertain of the direction, receptive to invention.”

Revealing his own take on the new project, Watt (also 60) stated : “It was exciting. A natural dynamism developed. We spoke in short-hand, and little looks, and co-wrote instinctively. It became more than the sum of our two selves. It just became Everything But The Girl on its own.”

Returning to the studio after more than twenty years, Tracey felt a “friction and a natural spark” with her musical partner and husband, adding “After so much time apart professionally, there was both a friction and a natural spark in the studio when we began.” “However, as much we underplayed it at the start, it was like a fuse had been lit. And it ended in a kind of coalescence, an emotional fusion. It felt very real and alive.”

The ‘Missing’ hitmakers formed in 1982, and went on to enjoy twelve Top 40 Singles in Great Britain. Ten years later, Ben was diagnosed with the rare auto-immune disorder, Churg-Strauss syndrome that involved life-saving operations during a 10-week hospital stay.

The pair – who married in 2009 – released two EPs in 1993, and would come with two more LPs, 1994’s ‘Amplified Heart’ and 1996’s ‘Walking Wounded,’ before their last last, 1999’s ‘Temperamental’. Saying ‘goodbye’ with their final performance at Montreux Jazz Festival, EBTG embarked on their lengthy hiatus as of 2000,

Scheduled for a proper April 21 release, here the complete ‘Fuse’ full length track-listing:

1. ‘Nothing Left To Lose’

2. ‘Run A Red Light’

3. ‘‘Caution To The Wind’

4. ‘‘When You Mess Up’

5. ‘Time And Time Again’

6. ‘No One Knows We’re Dancing’

7. ‘Lost’

8. ‘Forever’

9. ‘Interior Space’

10. ‘Karaoke’

Keep up with the latest trending music news by following us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

Author: Saul Goode

Photo: edwardfilms