Photo: Joe Mabel

Diane Warren To Receive Honorary Academy Award

Diane Warren along with Michael J. Fox lead the concise list of celebrities who will receive honorary Oscar statuettes from the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) later this year.

The legendary organization’s Board of Governors has voted to present Honorary Awards to Warren, Euzhan Palcy, and Peter Weir, with Fox receiving the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award.

All four recipients will be presented with their Oscars at the Academy’s 13th Governors Awards in Los Angeles on 19 November, and it a statement about the event, Academy President David Rubin said:

“The Academy’s Board of Governors is honored to recognize four individuals who have made indelible contributions to cinema and the world at large,” “Michael J. Fox’s tireless advocacy of research on Parkinson’s disease alongside his boundless optimism exemplifies the impact of one person in changing the future for millions.”

Diane Warren, a musician and songwriter who holds the record for the most Oscar nominations without a win with 13 nods, was praised as someone whose “music and lyrics have magnified the emotional impact of countless motion pictures and inspired generations of musical artists”.

Palcy, a director from Martinique best known for her Silver Lion-winning 1983 debut Sugar Cane Alley, and The Year of Living Dangerously director Weir were both praised for their careers as groundbreaking filmmakers.

Keep up with the latest trending music news by following us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram

Author: Al Denté

Photo: Joe Mabel