Photo: Raph_ PH

Coldplay To Release ‘Music Of The Spheres’ Album October 15

Following the release of their latest ‘Higher Power’ single in May, Coldplay‘s Chris Martin, Jonny Buckland, Guy Berryman, and Will Champion have formally set October 15 as the date for their ninth studio album.

Complete with a handwritten note alongside a trailer that combines an animated cosmic journey through the album’s planetary artwork with short clips of the album’s 12 tracks, the UK band’s lead singer, Chris Martin, posted about the Max Martin (no relation) produced LP on Instagram.

Titled Music of the Spheres, Coldplay’s new full length will consist of 12 tracks, five of which are represented by an emoji with Chris stating that his band’s new material was inspired by ‘Star Wars’, after he watched the movies and was left wondering what music on other planets sounds like. “One time I was watching ‘Star Wars’ and they had the scene with the Cantina band right? And I was like: ‘I wonder what musicians are like across the universe?’ and that led to this whole thing and now here we are,” said the songwriter.

In the music video for ‘Higher Power’, the band perform on the planet of Kaotica, which is “populated by robot dogs, giant holograms and a street-gang of dancing aliens” with Martin confirming that the new album will be set on the fictional planet. “It led us to imagining this whole other place called ‘the spheres’, which is like a group of planets, like a solar system with lots of different places and creatures and stuff. And what I found is when you’ve imagined a place like that, you can sort of become any artist within that.”

As he doesn’t think the band has much time left before they “stop making albums,” the “Yellow” hitmaker also revealed the forthcoming full length may very well be one Coldplay’s last, explaining “I do know how many albums we have left as a band and it’s not that many before we’re gonna stop making albums, I think.”

‘Music of the Spheres’ full track list includes:

1. ‘[Saturn Emoji]’

2. ‘Higher Power’

3. ‘Humankind’

4. ‘[Star Emoji]’

5. ‘Let Somebody Go’

6. ‘[Heart Emoji]’

7. ‘People of the People’

8. ‘Biutyful’

9. ‘[Earth Emoji]’

10. ‘My Universe’

11. ‘[Infinity Emoji]’

12. ‘Coloratura’

Coldplay’s Music of the Spheres LP is available to pre-order now at

Keep up with the latest trending music news by following us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

Author: Brad LeBeau

Photo: Raph_PH