Photo: Raph_PH

Slipknot Previews New Album With ‘The Dying Song’: Look + Listen

Rock legend Slipknot returns this fall with The End, So Far, a new album, preempted by “The Dying Song (Time to Sing)” single.

Following a bittersweet chorus about putting your “life into your death,” the single opens with frontman Corey Taylor bellowing, “Die! Die! Die!” “When no one else is listening, only when you’ve had enough.” “Time to sing this dying song alone.”

Directed by the legendary band’s percussionist Shawn “Clown” Crahan, the accompanying video featured the nine members’ creepy new masks, the most macabre of which belongs to Sid Wilson, the band’s deejay.

Late last year, the group surprise-released another song from the sessions, “The Chapeltown Rag,”.

Co-produced by the band and Joe Barresi (who mixed the acts prior two LP,) the full length is due out 9.30 and is available for preorder now.

In support of their new project Slipknot will kick off Knotfest Roadshow, a short U.S. tour in Nashville (9.20) with support from Ice Nine Kills and Crown the Empire.

Once Covid restrictions began to ease up, Taylor wrote “The energy, the positivity, the togetherness, the excitement, and the generosity were off the charts,” in a tour diary for Rolling Stone. “From the intro to the fade of the outro, it was pure and perfect release. For me as a performer, I know now that we can get back to doing what makes our hearts sing. And I’ll tell you — that fact alone is worth taking precautions and doing it right. And that was just the first night.” The musician was later diagnosed with Covid and credited the vaccine with his strong recovery and encouraged others to get vaccinated.

The End, So Far Track List:

1. “Adderall”
2. “The Dying Song (Time to Sing)”
3. “The Chapeltown Rag”
4. “Yen”
5. “Hivemind”
6. “Warranty”
7. “Medicine for the Dead”
8. “Acidic”
9. “Heirloom”
10. “H377”
11. “De Sade”
12. “Finale”

Keep up with the latest trending music news by following us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram

Author: Al Denté

Photo: Raph_PH