Photo: Antje Naumann (AllSystemsRed)

Rocker Mark Tremonti Sings Frank Sinatra: Look + Listen

Grammy Award-winning musician, producer, author and founding member of hard rock bands Alter Bridge, and Creed, Mark Tremonti is “stepping out” with his most-ambitious and challenging project yet.

Partnering with National Down Syndrome Society (NDSS), on May 27 the former rocker is set to release an LP of Frank Sinatra covers, titled ‘Tremonti Sings Sinatra.”

The selections from Sinatra’s catalog are being released in conjunction with a new charity initiative created by Tremonti called Take A Chance For Charity, the proceeds from which will go to support NDSS and the work they do to advocate for and support individuals with Down syndrome and their families. 

Mark and his family welcomed their first daughter Stella last March — who was born with Down syndrome — and the idea for the project was born, or as the musician explains:

“For years, I’ve loved singing along to Frank’s songs.” “One night, I found an old video of him performing ‘The Song Is You’ from 1944. It made me want to dive into his vocal approach. I was all in and I wanted to do something with it. When we found out about our daughter Stella’s Down syndrome diagnosis, the stars aligned. My obsession with Sinatra had its reason. Frank Sinatra raised more than a billion dollars for charity and that is a fact I wish the public knew more about. Beneath his cool and calm persona, he had a big heart. Doing this charity in his name was another way the stars had aligned. I decided to do this record to raise funds for families and individuals with Down syndrome. This project is the start of a new purpose that I will have for the rest of my life.”

Tremonti has come together with surviving members of Frank Sinatra’s orchestra, creating new takes on some of the classics and some deeper cuts from Frank’s catalog, including:

01. I’ve Got You Under My Skin 
02. I’ve Got The World On A String 
03. I Fall In Love Too Easily 
04. Wave 
05. Fly Me To The Moon
06. Nancy (With The Laughing Face)
07. My Way
08. You Make Me Feel So Young
09. Luck Be A Lady
10. That’s Life
11. Come Fly With Me
12. In The Wee Small Hours Of The Morning
13. The Song Is You
14. All Or Nothing At All

Keep up with the latest trending music news by following us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram

Author: Saul Goode

Photo: Antje Naumann (AllSystemsRed)