Photo: Erik Drost

Rock N’ Roll Hall Of Fame Confirms 2021 Inductees

Including the most diverse group of inductees in the organization’s history, The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announced its Class of 2021.

“This diverse class of talented Inductees reflects the Rock Hall’s ongoing commitment to honor artists whose music created the sound of youth culture” said John Sykes, Chairman of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Foundation. “It will make for an unforgettable live celebration of music in October at this year’s Induction Ceremony in Cleveland.” Adding to the excitement, Mandy Smith, the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame’s director of education stated: “It says that rock and roll is such a full, huge, diverse genre of music that there is something for everyone and it is just really exciting.”

The Inductees are as follows:

The Performer Category (honoring bands and solo artists who, in their careers, have created music whose originality, impact and influence has changed the course of rock & roll) includes:

Tina Turner

Carole King


Foo Fighters

Todd Rundgren

The Award for Early Influence (given to a performing artist or group whose music and performance style have directly influenced and helped inspire and evolve rock & roll and music that has impacted youth culture) includes:


Charley Patton

Gil Scott-Heron

The Musical Excellence Award (given to artists, musicians, songwriters and producers whose originality and influence creating music have had a dramatic impact on music) includes:

LL Cool J

Billy Preston

Randy Rhoads

The Ahmet Ertegun Award (given to non-performing industry professionals who, through their dedicated belief and support of artists and their music have had a major influence on the creative development and growth of rock & roll and music that has impacted youth culture):

Clarence Avant

For the first time, The Go-Go’s and Jay-Z were nominated. Foo Fighters’ Dave Grohl will become a two-time inductee, including band mates Nirvana in 2014. Carole King, who was inducted with Gerry Goffin in 1990, and Tina Turner, who was inducted with Ike and Tina Turner in 1991, are both two-time inductees.

Artists must have published their first record 25 years prior to induction to be eligible. Tina Turner (who won the fan vote), The Go-Go’s, and Foo Fighters are three of the top five performers on the “Fans’ Ballot.” There were a total of five million votes cast. On July 1, the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame’s 2021 Inductee exhibit, honoring this year’s class, will open to the public.

No stranger to hosting big events, the 36th Annual Induction Ceremony will be held in Cleveland at Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse on Oct. 30 at 8 p.m. will begin selling tickets to the general public and members in July.

Keep up with the latest trending music news by following us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram

Author: Luke Traina

Photo: Erik Drost