Photo: Jelly Roll - Public Domain

Jelly Roll Wins Big At 2024 CMT Music Awards

On Sunday night (4.07,) Jelly Roll took home three trophies at the 2024 CMT Music Awards.

Born Jason DeFord, the superstar singer/songwriter won all the catagories he was nominated for, including Video of the Year, Male Video of the Year and CMT Performance of the Year, all for ‘Need a Favor.’

During his acceptance speech for Male Video of the Year, the heavy weight musician stated that he was having “one of the greatest nights of my life” and also referenced his stints in jail as a troubled youth.

“It’s important that I stand up here tonight and represent those looking for second chances,” he said. “The kids back in the Metro-Davidson Detention Facility and the kids down here in the Austin Juvenile Detention Facility watching this tonight, I’m cheering y’all boys on. You can be this guy. You can change. You can turn it around. I promise you can, baby.”

Following the award portion the now 39-year-old artist closed the show with a rendition of his song ‘Halfway to Hell.’

Other winners at the 2024 CMT Music Awards. included Lainey Wilson for Female Video of the Year, Dan + Shay for Duo/Group Video of the Year, and Carly Pearce and Chris Stapleton for Collaborative Video of the Year. 

In recognition of her “exceptional dedication to the community and fellow artists,” Jane Seymour.presented Trisha Yearwood with the inaugural June Carter Cash Humanitarian Award, subsequent to which she performed as did did Keith Urban, Jason Aldean, Little Big Town and Sugarland, and Wilson. 

Another highlight of the night was a musical tribute to late country star Toby Keith, who passed away in February. Wilson, Brooks & Dunn and Sammy Hagar performed his hits ‘Should’ve Been a Cowboy,’ ‘I Love This Bar’ and ‘How Do You Like Me Now?!’ as Keith’s three children watched from the audience. 

Hosted by Kelsea Ballerini at the Moody Center in Austin, Texas, the complete list of winners included:

Video of the Year: Jelly Roll – Need A Favor

Female Video of the Year: Lainey Wilson – Watermelon Moonshine

Male Video of the Year: Jelly Roll – Need A Favor

Duo/Group Video of the Year: Dan + Shay – Save Me The Trouble

Collaborative Video of the Year: Carly Pearce feat. Chris Stapleton – We Don’t Fight Anymore

Female Breakthrough Video of the Year: Ashley Cooke – Your Place

Male Breakthrough Video of the Year: Warren Zeiders – Pretty Little Poison

CMT Performance of the Year: Jelly Roll – Need a Favor (from 2023 CMT Music Awards)

CMT Digital-First Performance of the Year: Scotty McCreery – It Matters To Her (from CMT Stages)

June Carter Cash Humanitarian Award: Trisha Yearwood.


Author: ?

Photo: Jelly Roll – Public Domain