Photo: GordonMakryllos

2022 Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame Inductees Announced

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame has formally announced its class of 2022 including Eminem who’s being inducted in his first year of eligibility, an artist who initially declined to accept the honor, Dolly Parton along with Duran DuranLionel RichieCarly SimonEurythmics, and Pat Benatar.

In addition to the performer category, Judas Priest and the legendary songwriter/production duo of Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis will receive the Musical Excellence Award. Harry Belafonte and Elizabeth Cotten will both receive the Early Influence Award and this year’s Ahmet Ertegun Award winners include Sugarhill Records founder Sylvia Robinson, Interscope and Beats founder Jimmy Iovine, and lawyer to the stars Allen Grubman.

In her explanation as to why she initially declined the Rock Hall’s nom, Parton wrote, “I don’t feel that I have earned that right.” Yet after the organization confirmed that she could still be inducted despite her statement, Parton gave an interview saying she’d “accept gracefully” adding “When I said that, it was always my belief that the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame was for the people in rock music, and I have found out lately that it’s not necessarily that.”

Beck, A Tribe Called Quest, Rage Against the Machine, Kate Bush, Devo, Fela Kuti, New York Dolls, MC5, and Dionne Warwick were all nominated this year, but will not be inducted this year.

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame 2022 induction ceremony will take place on November 5 at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles and will be simulcast on SiriusXM’s Volume channel and air at a later date on HBO and HBO Max.

Performer Category
Pat Benatar & Neil Giraldo
Duran Duran
Dolly Parton
Lionel Richie
Carly Simon

Musical Excellence Award
Judas Priest
Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis

Early Influence Award
Harry Belafonte
Elizabeth Cotten

Ahmet Ertegun Award
Allen Grubman
Jimmy Iovine
Sylvia Robinson

Keep up with the latest trending music news by following us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram

Author: Saul Goode

Photo: GordonMakryllos