Photo: Fanclub_-_The_Kinks_2.png: VARA. Photographer: W. Veenman derivative work: I.M.S. (talk)

The Kinks Mark 60th Anniversary With ‘The Journey’ Anthology

In celebration of their 60th anniversary, The Kinks will launch a two-year-long celebration in March with The Journey – Part 1, a two-disc compilation featuring songs handpicked by the legendary band’s remaining members.

Including tracks from the Rock Hall-inducted group’s first singles in 1964 through to their 1975 concept albums, each title of The Journey – Part 1 – curated by Ray and Dave Davies and Mick Avery – ranging from “Songs about becoming a man, the search for adventure, finding an identity and a girl” to “Days and nights of a lost soul, songs of regret and reflection of happier times.”

Speaking about the collection, Ray Davies said “Ask yourself the question, is this journey really necessary?…….Yes!” with his brother, Dave Davies adding, “I’m delighted with what I think is an inspiring selection of timeless and magical Kinks music.”

Founded in 1963, The Kinks original members included the Davies brothers and the late bassist Pete Quaife, with drummer Mick Avory joining shortly thereafter. In 1964, the group released “You Really Got Me,” their first-ever #1 single, followed by “All Day and All of the Night” and another #1, “Tired of Waiting for You,” cementing the quartet as a preeminent act within the British Invasion.

Due out March 24 in a 2LP / 2CD set, The Journey – Part 1 will also include iconic tracks pulled from such Kinks classic albums as The Village Green Preservation SocietyFace to FaceArthur and Lola Versus Powerman. The anthology will also include personal track-by-track notes about the songs penned by the Davies and Avory, who happens to be celebrating his 78th birthday today (2.16.)

Due out later this year, the second volume of The Journey, will probably focus on the back half of the Kinks’ massive catalog with “a host of global events and activities” are planned throughout 2023 and 2024 to mark the Kinks’ 6-decade long anniversary.

The Journey – Part 1 Track List

Side 1
Songs about becoming a man, the search for adventure, finding an identity and a girl:
1. You Really Got Me (UK#1, 1964)
2. All Day And All Of The Night (UK#2, 1964)
3. It’s All Right (1964)
4. Who’ll Be The Next In Line (1965)
5. Tired Of Waiting For You (UK#1, 1965)
6. She’s Got Everything (1968)
7.  Just Can’t Go To Sleep (1964)
8. Stop Your Sobbing (1964)
9. Wait Till The Summer Comes Along (1965)
10. So Long (1965)

Side 2
Songs of ambition achieved, bitter taste of success, loss of friends, the past comes back and bites you in the backside:
1. Dead End Street (UK#5, 1966)
2. Schooldays (1975)
3. The Hard Way (1975)
4. Mindless Child Of Motherhood (1969)
5. Supersonic Rocket Ship (UK#2, 1972)
6. I’m In Disgrace (1975)
7. Do You Remember Walter? (1968)

Side 3
Days and nights of a lost soul, songs of regret and reflection of happier times:
1. Too Much On My Mind (1966)
2. Nothin’ In The World Can Stop Me Worryin’ ‘Bout That Girl (1965)
3. Days (UK#2, 1968)
4. Where Have All The Good Times Gone (1965)
5. Strangers (1970)
6. It’s Too Late (1965)
7. Sitting In The Midday Sun (1973)

Side 4
A new start, a new love, but have you really changed? Still haunted by the quest and the girl:
1. Waterloo Sunset (UK#2, 1967)
2. No More Looking Back (1975)
3. Death Of A Clown (UK#3, 1967)
4. Celluloid Heroes (1972)
5. Act Nice And Gentle (1967)
6. This Is Where I Belong (1967) 

Keep up with the latest trending music news by following us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram

Author: Al Denté

Photo: Fanclub_-_The_Kinks_2.pngVARA. Photographer: W. Veenman derivative workI.M.S. (talk)