Photo: Raph_PH

Janelle Monáe LP Features Grace Jones + More

Scheduled for a proper June 9 release, Janelle Monáe has revealed the track list for her upcoming album The Age of Pleasure, featuring contributions from Grace Jones, Sister Nancy, Amaarae, Doechii, Nia Long, Ckay, Seun Kuti, and Egypt 80.

What will be her first full length in five years since Dirty Computer (2018,) the multi-hyphenate has thus far preempted the LP with the two songs (and teased accompanying videos) including “Lipstick Lover” and “Float,” featuring Seun Kuti and Egypt 80.

In her recent interview, Monáe discussed how her new LP reflects her recent efforts to enjoy her life, to be present, and to quell her anxiety, stating “I think being an artist gets lonely.” “Most people don’t understand what’s going on in my brain. Community has been so helpful to me; it’s beautiful that I have a title called The Age of Pleasure because it actually re-centers me. It’s not about an album anymore. I’ve changed my whole fucking lifestyle.”

In support of her new repertoire, Monáe will embark on a 26-city tour from August 30 at the WAMU Theater in Seattle through the fall and ending on October 18 at the YouTube Theater in Los Angeles.

The Age of Pleasure Track List

1. Float [ft. Seun Kuti and Egypt 80]
2. Champagne Shit
3. Black Sugar Beach
4. Phenomenal [ft. Doechii]
5. Haute
6. Ooh La La [ft. Grace Jones] 
7. Lipstick Lover
8. The Rush [ft. Amaarae and Nia Long]
9. The French 75 [ft. Sister Nancy]
10. Water Slide
11 Know Better [ft. CKay]
12 Paid in Pleasure
13 Only Have Eyes 42
14 A Dry Red

Keep up with the latest trending music news by following us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

Author: Al Denté

Photo: Raph_PH