Photo: Pat Loika

Daft Punk Hosts A One-Time Only Stream Of 1997 Show

Daft Punk celebrates the 25th anniversary of their debut album, Homework, by releasing a deluxe edition of the LP and hosting a one-time-only livestream of a 1997 concert, both of which dropped today, 2/22/2022 at 2:22 p.m. PT

The livestream takes place via Twitch, with Daft Punk sharing footage from their December 12, 1997 show at the Mayan Theater in Los Angeles, a gig that ended of the duo’s “Daftendirektour” world tour in support of Homework (with Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo and Thomas Bangalter playing the entire set sans their signature helmets.)

Arriving today, the deluxe edition of Homework will feature a collection of remixes, nine of which were previously unavailable on streaming services. The new-to-DSP versions are alternate mixes of the Homework classic, “Around the World,” including versions by DJ Sneak, house legend Todd Terry (“Tee’s Frozen Sun Mix”), and the American garage house duo Kenlou. The deluxe edition also includes remixes of “Revolution 909,” “Burnin’,” and “Teachers.”

In addition to the deluxe edition of Homework, Daft Punk will be reissuing the album and their live LP, Alive ’97 on vinyl, pre-orders for which are up on Daft Punk’s website.

While Homework technically came out January 20, 1997, the decision to start the 25th anniversary celebration more than a month later comes one year ago today that Daft Punk announced they were breaking up after 28 years together.

Homework 25th Anniversary Edition Track List

Disc 1: Homework – Original Album
1. “Daftendirekt”
2. “WDPK 83.7 FM”
3. “Revolution 909”
4. “Da Funk”
5. “Phoenix”
6. “Fresh”
7. “Around The World”
8. “Rollin’ & Scratchin’”
9. “Teachers”
10. “High Fidelity”
11. “Rock’n Roll”
12. “Oh Yeah”
13. “Burnin’”
14. “Indo Silver Club”
15. “Alive”
16. “Funk Ad”

Disc 2: Homework Remixes
1. “Around The World” (I:Cube remix)*
2. “Revolution 909” (Roger Sanchez & Junior Sanchez Remix)
3. “Around the World” (Tee’s Frozen Sun Mix)*
4. “Around the World” (Mellow Mix)*
5. “Burnin’” (DJ Sneak Main Mix)*
6. “Around the World” (Kenlou Mix)*
7. “Burnin’” (Ian Pooley cut up mix)
8. “Around The World” (Motorbass Vice Mix)
9. “Around The World” (M.A.W. Remix)*
10. “Burnin’” (Slam mix)
11. “Around The World” (Original Lead Only)*
12. “Burnin’” (DJ Sneak Mongowarrier Mix)*
13. “Around The World” (Raw Dub)*
14. “Teachers” (extended mix)
15. “Revolution 909” (Revolution A Capella)

*not previously on streaming services

Keep up with the latest trending music news by following us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram

Author: Al Denté

Photo: Pat Loika