Motown has finally released previously unheard material from Marvin Gaye in the form of the album You’re the Man.

The posthumous record features 17 tracks from the scrapped follow-up to the late soul icon’s legendary 1971 record, What’s Going On. The songs were recorded back in 1972 in Detroit and Los Angeles, with new versions of “My Last Chance,” “Symphony,” and “I’d Give My Life for You,” all specially-mixed by Amy Winehouse producer Salaam Remi.

Embed from Getty Images

While the project had an original release strategy, on April 1st of 1984, Gaye was tragically shot and killed following an altercation with his father after he intervened in an argument between his parents. This LP marks the first time that all of the Motown legend’s follow-up tracks will appear together and is long overdue. Give this piece of resurfaced history a listen below.

Keep up with the latest trending music news by following us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.