On Tuesday December 22, the Recording Academy announced their Special Merit Awards honorees and the class of 2020 is as diverse as it is talented.

The Talking Heads, Selena, Salt-N-Pepa and Grandmaster Flash and the Furious Five will all be receiving Lifetime Achievement Awards at the 63rd annual Grammys on January 31st, 2021. Included in the list of esteemed musicians are opera singer Marilyn Horne and jazz drummer Lionel Hampton while Kenny “Babyface” Edmonds, recording engineer Ed Cherney and jazz artist Benny Golson are named Trustee Awards nominees.

“As we welcome the new class of Special Merit Award honorees, it gives us a chance to reward and recognize the influence they’ve had in the music community regardless of genre,” Harvey Mason Jr., interim President/CEO of the Recording Academy, said in a statement. “As a music creator and music lover, I am grateful that we are able to look back at our influences and see the impact that they have made on our community. In a year where music has helped keep us together, I look forward to honoring this iconic group of music creators.”

Tune in on January 31st, 2021 to watch the to the 63rd annual Grammys awards on CBS-TV.

Keep up with the latest trending music news by following us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Photo: Southbank Centre