Diplo arrives this weekend with an unlikely collection of songs that lets his fans into the eclectic mind of the EDM legend. Dropped on May 29th, the Mississippi native presents Thomas Wesley Chapter 1: Snake Oil.

After announcing this “Country” effort more than a year ago, Diplo spent the past several months promoting the LP on social media and even performed a virtual DJ set under his birth name, “Thomas Wesley”.

Courtesy of Mad Decent and Columbia Records, Snake Oil spans 12 tracks, including his remix of Lil Nas X’s “Old Town Road” with Billy Ray Cyrus. Other features include Young Thug, as well as proper country artists Thomas Rett, Zac Brown, Morgan Wallen, Orville Peck and more.

“I know it’s a confusing time for my fans. Not only is a global pandemic restructuring the music industry but the 73rd best DJ in the world (me) is releasing a country album …” he wrote on Instagram this week. “It should not make sense but it’s definitely the best album I’ve ever made. I promise. Even my mom and dad told me so.” Check out Diplo’s newest and most daring collection yet, in the form of Thomas Wesley Chapter 1: Snake Oil, below.

Keep up with the latest trending music news by following us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Photo: Kim Metso