After an August warehouse explosion in Beirut, Lebanon claimed the lives of some 170 people and injured more than 6,000 others, Beatport employees quickly switched their focus from the COVID-19 pandemic to a two-day, 24-hour ReConnect stream to direct attention to those affected by the tragedy.

The result of the effort is two separate dates, August 22nd and September 13th, when more than 20 house and techno’s all-stars will perform. Artists such as Carl Cox, John Digweed, Nicole Moudaber, Paco Osuna, and more are slated to spin their hottest selections during the virtual fundraiser, dubbed “Together For Beirut.” All proceeds from the stream will be funneled toward Impact Lebanon in support of the Lebanese Red Cross, Arcenciel, and various other music and arts organizations in the city.

Instrumental in leading the charge for the fundraiser, Moudaber addressed the goal of raising a quarter of a million dollars for those impacted by saying, “These fundraising events will provide much needed relief and support to the people of Beirut and the many affected by the recent tragedy. Officials estimate the explosion caused up to $15 billion (£11.5bn) of damage. International financial aid and support has been overwhelming, but it’s not enough. We must support in any way we can to help, and in addition, our efforts will also be helping the music and arts industry of Lebanon which has been wiped out.”

For those interested, tune into Beatport’s Twitch channel beginning 1:00 PM EST / 10 AM PST on August 22nd for part one, and 11:00 AM EST / 8:00 AM PST on September 13th for part two.

Keep up with the latest trending music news by following us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Photo: Malagalabombonera